- Country of Origin: Product Of
Agar-agar, known as just agar in culinary circles, is a plant-based gelatin derived from seaweed. It is often promoted as a vegetarian substitute for regular gelatin, which is made from animal products.
Agar-agar is also used in gluten-free recipes as a thickener and makes an excellent thickener for soups, jellies, ice cream and more. It’s also very nutritious!
Cooking with Agar:
Before agar can be added to a recipe, it needs to be dissolved in water and then boiled; it cannot be simply dissolved in a liquid or added directly to food. Dissolve the agar in a liquid in a small saucepan over medium-high heat, bring to a boil, and then simmer until slightly thickened, about five to seven minutes.
Product of Thailand
(Typical analysis per 100g)
Energy 695 kJ
Protein 0 g
Fat Total <1 g
- Saturated <1 g
- Sugars 0 g
Sodium 528 mg
Seaweed, Agar Raw
Packaged in a facility that processes peanuts, wheat and milk products
Store item in an airtight container in a cool dry place.
Up to 12 months if stored correctly. See label for Best Before date.